- - - - - - - - - - - - -

Monday, October 03, 2011

Independent Police Conduct Authority is a joke

Pita Sharples wants to dump the IPCA and replace it with an anti-corruption board. While I agree with Pita on some of his criticisms, let's not throw the baby out with the bathwater.

The current IPCA is a joke. It is only funded to independently review 30% of cases, meaning the majority of the 70% are the same old Police investigating Police (interestingly only about a quarter of complaints against Police are ever upheld, perhaps only those which are independently reviewed?).

The IPCA does have the power to investigate a case that attracts media attention, but NZers should be able to gain an independent review of their complaint against the Police without having to set up their own facebook media site to call attention to their complaint.

Sadly our cop worship culture, so disgustingly on display as this Government ram through spy powers for the Police, doesn't even ask for checks and balances in the Police force, the sleepy hobbits and Shire Volk are happy to hand vast unchecked powers to the Police, until it's their darling little middle class child who gets screwed by the cops, then you can't shut the shire volk up.



At 3/10/11 11:09 pm, Blogger Frank said...

I hope Tumeke's collective editorial team don't mind if I repost this from StopTheBill,

It is only days now until Parliament votes on the law that would legalise covert video surveillance by Police, Fisheries, SIS and Customs. This bill must be stopped! It is the most serious assault on our fundamental freedom and rights in our lifetime. As it stands, no warrant is even required to conduct video surveillance.

We are asking everyone to take two minutes to email members of Parliament who have not decided which way to vote and tell them to vote ‘NO’ on the bill. It is likely to be voted on this Thursday (October 6). At present, the National party does not have the numbers to pass the bill. It only has the support of United Future. It needs 3 more votes – so we want to make sure that neither the Labour Party nor the ACT party support this dangerous bill from becoming law. The Green, Maori and Mana parties do not support the bill at all.

Please email any member of parliament you like. We would certainly encourage in particular emails to:

ACT party
Rodney Hide – rodney.hide@parliament.govt.nz
John Boscawen – john.boscawen@parliament.govt.nz
Roger Douglas – roger.douglas@parliament.govt.nz
Hilary Calvert – hilary.calvert@parliament.govt.nz
Heather Roy – heather.roy@parliament.govt.nz

Phil Goff – phil.goff@parliament.govt.nz
Annette King – annette.king@parliament.govt.nz
David Parker – david.parker@parliament.govt.nz
Charles Chauvel – charles.chauvel@parliament.govt.nz
Grant Robertson – grant.robertson@parliament.govt.nz
David Cunliffe – david.cunliffe@parliament.govt.nz
Ruth Dyson – ruth.dyson@parliament.govt.nz
Clayton Cosgrove – clayton.cosgrove@parliament.govt.nz
Maryan Street – maryan.street@parliament.govt.nz
Trevor Mallard – trevor.mallard@parliament.govt.nz

The most important thing to say is:

Other things you can say are:

* It is an assault on the rule of law as it retrospectively legalises illegal police actions

* It is an assault on the right to be free from unreasonable search and seizure

* It is an assault on the right to privacy

* You don’t want any expansion of the power of the state to surveil people

The police and government have been misleading the public by saying that the bill will ‘restore the common law position’ - the police have never had the power to do trespassory video surveillance. The police knowingly broke the law and should be prosecuted.

The ONLY submission received in support of this law was from Police. All other submissions – including the Law Society, Criminal Bar, civil society organisations and hundred of individuals all opposed this bill."


Post a Comment

<< Home